It took 2 years… but its done

iphone photo's are blurry

This is the sweater I knit. Yeah, that’s right, I knit it.

The actual knitting part I finished the other week, but tonight I sewed on the last buttons.

The funny thing about it is that this sweater took me 2 whole years to knit. I started the project in January 2009. I was pregnant with Audrey and soaking up a little me time before she arrived. I wanted to do something for me. It was the first ‘complicated’ pattern I had tried.

Looking back, this sweater was made over a two year period in my life where more things changed for me then just about any other time. Pregnancy, birth, maternity leave, learning to be a Mom, going back to work, getting promoted, learning to be a work outside the home Mom… so much change. We moved over this time period. I started writing. Really, in many ways, I know myself better now then I did two years ago. All this change and challenge really showed me who I am.

There were time periods where I worked steadily on this sweater. And others where I didn’t touch it for 6 months. I would pick it up again when things slowed down or my motivation came back.

Finishing it seems somewhat symbolic for me. Like that crazy first two years of motherhood is coming to a close. Not that things are getting any less crazy any time soon (WOW toddlers are difficult to parent!), but that the immense change is slowing down.

I know, it is kinda silly to get all sentimental over a knit sweater. But you can’t always choose the things that feel symbolic to you. And this just does.

3 responses to “It took 2 years… but its done

  1. Ironic Mom January 31, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    Well done. It reminds me of my mom taking knitting lessons about 25 years ago. She was working on a complicated pair of mitts. Later, when she was done, she calculated the amount she paid for the lessons (minimal), the wool and needles, the gas, and the coffee — and they were her $100 mitts.

    But, like you, she made something out of nothing!

  2. Justine January 31, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Beautiful! I like the symbolism here, too.

  3. Pingback: Making things from scratch and cultural shifts «

