Challenge to myself

So, I keep getting sick. I have been sick on and off since before Christmas. I have had two stomach bugs, the flu, strep throat, laryngitis and a lingering cold. Essentially, my immune system sucks right now. Its probably a bunch of things- a toddler bring home constant germs, stress at work, stress with life, height of flu season ect. ect.

But I was thinking today that my diet is probably not helping. You see, I find in the winter I crave a lot of warm, hearty meals. Now these meals aren’t void of veggies- we eat a lot of onions, garlic, potatoes, sweet potatoes, squash, mushrooms ect. But raw veggies? Pretty much not in my diet at all right now. Except the occasional avocado I put in my sushi.

I have been pretty honest about my thoughts on food. I am a big fan of fresh, healthy, home made food. We buy organic when we can and try to cook at home. We don’t eat a lot of fast food. But I am overweight and have a serious addiction to things like muffins, cupcakes, cookies, ice cream ect. I eat them more then I would like to admit. I love to bake. I need to get better. I need to be a better example for my kid (who hates all veggies currently. But you know- she’s a toddler).

So anyway, back to my challenge. In the hopes of building up some immune defense and generally trying to replace the carb and sugar high indulgences- I am giving myself a challenge this week.

I am going to eat all of this in a week:

It is probably about 4 cups of fresh veggies. Celery, broccoli, zucchini and carrots. Why those veggies? Because that’s what I had in the fridge.

We have been getting deliveries every other week from Spud for a couple weeks now. They bring us all sorts of fresh fruit and veggies. This last week I thought I had changed my order to not getting carrots or celery… because I already had carrots and I am not a big celery fan… but I hadn’t saved my changes… So. Now we have a ton of carrots and celery to eat up. So I am going to eat it.

This will not be my only veggies this week. There will still be veggies in dinner and lunch- I have some squash, zucchini, lettuce, sweet potato, onions and carrots still to cook with. These will be my additional raw veggies.

I am going to make up a Tzatziki sauce to dip them in. Yum.

Anyone want to join me on a one week raw veggie binge?

11 responses to “Challenge to myself

  1. Cheryl January 23, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I really need to get on board with this. B eats mote veggies than I do! Confession: My kid loves carrots, peppers and cucumber. I eat those things when he eats them … most of the time 😦

    Good luck! And good idea to prep it all, we’ve been doing that with our veg from Spud too. B has eaten even more carrots now that they are cut and within his reach in the fridge. The easier it is, the less excuses, right?

  2. kelly @kellynaturally January 23, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    This sounds like a fabulous idea, Kathleen!
    We’ll join you!

    I know you didn’t ask… but, if you aren’t already, make sure you’re taking plenty of Vitamin D, probiotics, and garlic every day. Also, elderberry is a natural anti-viral.
    And keeping a humidifier on in your house keeps your skin & nose less dry (and thus less suceptible to germs getting IN).

    Thank you for the gentle push to get more raw produce in our diets this time of year! 🙂

    • amoment2think January 23, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      Thanks Kelly!

      And your suggestions are great! I do take Vit D and just re-started taking probiotics. We cook a lot with garlic, but adding raw to my tzitziki will help. I have been looking for elderberry too, as someone suggested it on Twitter– but haven’t been able to find it yet- I need to go to a specialty store.

      The humidifier is a great idea too. Audrey has one in her room, but we don’t have one in ours. Calgary is super super dry- so this is really good advice.

      Thanks!

  3. Ginger January 23, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    I make a really yummy fake hummus that would go really well with all those raw veggies (it’s fake because it lacks the tahini. So chickpeas, garlic, salt, lemon, & 1 tbsn olive oil. I add cumin, and use the juice from the canned chickpeas to make up for the missing olive oil).
    But I’m with you. I’m trying to eat more raw veggies too, plus I’m trying to make myself at least TRY more veggies, to get out of my normal veggie rut. I like your challenge!

  4. Justine January 23, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    I’ve been eating more cooked veggies lately, but things high in vitamin C and antioxidants … spinach, broccoli, tomatoes, other leafy greens. Hard to do in the winter, but salads help, too! And drink LOTS of water to flush out your system.

    Not that you need more advice, of course. 🙂

    But you can bake AND be healthy … especially if baking keeps you sane!

  5. Julia January 23, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    I should eat more raw veggies too – one way that I find I eat more of them is when I make a really easy dip – I get fat-free sour cream (one of the small containers – I think 250ml) and mix in about 1/3 package of onion soup mix. Then I take a little container of this with my veggies when I’m on call or at work, and it makes eating them so much better. Plus not a lot of ‘bad stuff’ because of the fat-free sour cream – plus getting a bit of dairy! For some reason I like it better than other dressings – anyway, an idea if you get bored of the tzatziki 🙂

  6. Perpetua January 24, 2011 at 5:02 am

    I am terrible at raw veggies. Leafy greens and raw spinach I could eat all day, but put me in front of that box of veg of yours, and I’d…not do so well.

    Let me second the elderberry recommendation. You can get it as a syrup called sambucus, and it really does shorten the duration of a cold. You’re supposed to take it as a supplement everyday, but even if you take it just when sick it helps.

    I think drugstore.com ships to canada, but I’m not sure. That’s where I get mine.

  7. clara January 24, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    I hate celery. Those strings. That bitter flavour. Blech.

    Um, but! Great idea! You know, with the veggies all cut up like that I would totally eat them. They look so pretty and delicious! I buy lots of veggies. I have high hopes. And then, it’s too much trouble to wash and chop. I know. I am ridiculous.

    Although I have been doing better lately, now that I am putting a vegetable on every plate at every meal so that the kids don’t freak out when someone offers them a carrot stick. I have also been sick since the beginning of the month though..so I don’t know what to make of it.

    Thanks for the elderberry tips.

  8. Heather January 24, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    you got me thinking – all the veggies I’ve eaten this winter have been cooked. I can’t remember the last time I had raw! Whoa – you blew my mind. And we’ve been pretty sick in our house too…I think there are just bad bugs in our city this winter. Boo to that!

  9. Pingback: Review: Spud Grocery Delivery | Kids in Cowtown

  10. Pingback: Attack of the Ginger |

