Tuesdays 2 Think: Heather

Okay all- this is very exciting! We have our first Tuesdays 2 Think submission today thanks to Heather. As I mentioned last Tuesday, I want Tuesdays 2 Think to be an opportunity for us to share something that we are really passionate about and share a bit of who we are with each other. I want to get each other thinking about stuff maybe we wouldn’t and just generally celebrate who we are. If you are up for writing a guest post exploring your greatest interest/passion/cause send me a an e-mail at amoment2think@gmail.com.

Oh oh oh! And I totally forgot to say something last week when I announced Tuesdays 2 Think! Cheryl over at PicPoetProse did up this awesome badge for me. She has recently move her blog- go over and say hello!

And now here’s Heather:

Hi A Moment 2 Think readers!  My name is Heather and I’m a Calgary Blogger When Kathleen first asked about submissions for this meme I jumped at the idea.  And then when I sat down to write my piece I revisited her blog where she spoke about the kinds of posts she was looking for.  She was looking for ‘non parenting’ material.  “Ok, I though, that’s easy, there’s lots I could write about!”

And then I sat down to write and Oh My.  Nothing came.

So I thought about it really hard.  What did I used to do before I had kids?  Who was I?

Well, I used to read books.  Lots of them.  And I had started writing one too.  I was passionate about the written word.  I participated in online writing forums and I wrote short stories.  I sent them out for publication and had a few successes with flash fiction.  I loved to write.

“Man,” I thought, “what happened?  Will I ever finish that book?  Would I ever get published?”

And then I realized that I was still a writer – I had just switched formats.  So I don’t write fiction, right now.  It doesn’t mean I never will again.  It doesn’t mean the book that’s living and breathing in my mind wont ever come to fruition.

Right now, what’s right for me is blogging.  I write about my children and I relish in the geekiness that is blogging.  I play in the html and the php and resize pixels to my hearts content.  It’s something I can do sitting in front of the tv as my husband watches ‘Dirty Jobs.’

It’s still me.

I’m thankful for this outlet and the ability to engage my brain in the few moments I have to myself each day.  As any parent knows, those moments are very scarce.  I enjoy the conversations that are started and the people who come by and share their thoughts with me.

The novel can wait.  It can wait until my children are in school and don’t need me as often.  With a three year old and a 2 month old – it’s going to be awhile until those days are among us.  But I can wait.  I won’t forget that my passion lies in writing because as a blogger…I’m still doing it.

6 responses to “Tuesdays 2 Think: Heather

  1. Ginger January 18, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    Hi Heather! I love that you can recognize that your passion, while it may have shifted, doesn’t have to end–blogging is writing, even if it’s not a novel 🙂

  2. amoment2think January 18, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Heather, this is a great post. But I would love to hear more too. What is your novel about? How did the idea come to you? How is it different writing non-fiction versus fiction?

    • Heather January 18, 2011 at 7:27 pm

      it’s very different to write non-fiction as opposed to fiction. With fiction, one needs to immerse themselves in a whole other world. I needed quiet and a lot of concentration to pick through dialogue etc. With non-fiction, I can pound it out with the tv on…mostly because it’s conversational so, whatever is in my head just pours out and that’s it. Done.

  3. Cheryl January 18, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    I want to hear the answers to those questions too!
    I am right there with you Heather! I’ve startsd calling myself a wannabe writer because I sometimes feel like poems and blog posts don’t count. Thanks for a reminder that writing is writing, regardless of format.
    So what is the book stewing in your mind? There’s a loosely formed one in my mind too. Someday …

    • Heather January 19, 2011 at 8:21 am

      well, the book is based on a super vivid dream I had and is about a pregnant woman during the depression. It will get written – as soon as ‘someday’ gets here!

