ControverSunday February 6th, 2011: Open Topic

badges

Alright ControverSundian’s, here is my challenge to you. Right before the season of Love (AKA Hallmarks favourite holiday, AKA Valentines Day)…. lets really get into it, shall we?

(New to ControverSunday? Check out the details here. And join us in the conversation!)

Pick a topic. Any topic. The kind of topic that you are passionate about. But the kind of topic you also feel you can only talk about in hushed tones. That you have to avoid at the dinner table or the water cooler or the park. The one you feel you shouldn’t talk about, least you offend anyone’s delicate sensitivities or be the one to stir the pot. The one topic you wish everyone would just throw the veil of darkness off and face head on. Yeah. That topic. I know you have one.

Write about it. And schedule your post for Sunday, February 6th.

And then we will all get up on Sunday February 6th and put a good measure of Baileys or Rum or Kahlua or whatever strong liquor of choice in our coffee and take a deep breath. Try not to panic. And hopefully a really interesting discussion will appear. Or just a crap load of angry comments. Either way. It will be fun.

What do you say, are you in? (Please someone be in, I don’t want to do this alone.)

(This post sounds rather British, doesn’t it? With its ‘shall we’ and its ‘good measure’? Why is it when I think of being brave and really being a sh*t disturber (for lack of a better term) I tend to channel a strong, opinionated, tell it like it is, British women. I love those Brits.)

(Okay, I will stop being funny now. Best to leave that to the Queen’s of funny, @mmeperpetua and @torturedpotato .)

5 responses to “ControverSunday February 6th, 2011: Open Topic

  1. Perpetua January 4, 2011 at 7:59 am

    I love this topic. Seriously love it. I’m already thinking about what I might write.

    (Also, you are welcome to join us in drawing a picture of your butt. It is Automatic Funny 🙂

  2. Ginger January 4, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Gulp. I always feel way more pressure when it’s my own ideas. But I do love the open topic–especially for all the discussions!

  3. Dr Sarah January 10, 2011 at 10:08 am

    I am *so* looking forward to reading what people come up with. Trying to think what would be best to write for mine, though – I don’t have that many topics that I feel obliged to stay off, and the ones that I do are usually ones that I think other people should stay away from as well!

