The joy of farmers markets

I think this is my new favourite thing:

We got it at the new Calgary Kingsland Farmers Market. Um. Yum. The same place also had the most amazing green eggs that reminded us of the blue eggs we had on our honeymoon (apparently they are a similar but distantly related species… whatever, they taste good.) Oh, and we also got great french style cheese there and the Cornish game hen we (and by we I am mean, I am cooking it and the family is eating it) are cooking for Christmas dinner. We have been there a couple times since they opened and I am already in love.
Anyway, if you happen to be in Calgary, I highly recommend checking out this market.

4 responses to “The joy of farmers markets

  1. Damita December 24, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Mmm looks amazing! I want some!

    Merry Christmas
    ICLW #59 http://www.digital-damita.net

  2. Rochelle December 24, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    That does sound yummy! Our farmer’s market doesn’t open again until May and I miss it so much already. Does goat milk have a much different taste from cow’s milk? We’ve never tried it in our home but I’m super curious since there is someone who sells it fairly close to us and I’d much rather buy it from them, than buy organic cow’s milk at walmart until May. Wishing you a very joy filled holiday from ICLW #110!

    • amoment2think December 24, 2010 at 6:09 pm

      I find that goats milk does taste a little different from cows milk- grassier. But the eggnog was so amazing and kinda its own thing- I didn’t even notice.

      Yeah, we are very lucky to have a couple year round farmers markets, partially because the main things at a farmers market that are truly from Alberta are meat, eggs and dairy. Not as seasonal as the produce, much of which comes from B.C. anyway.

      Thanks for your comment!

  3. Jem December 27, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    You had quite the Christmas feast! How yummy! And organic and delish!

    ~Jem (ICLW #5)
    http://ambivalentwomb.blogspot.com/

