The most versatile tool in my kitchen

Via Flickr by arifm

My cast iron pan is probably my most used kitchen tool. I love it. Like a lot.

Last night I made corn bread to go with our slower cooker ribs. Yum. And I, of course, used my cast iron pan. The corn bread came out perfect and crispy on the bottom. Double yum.

This morning I had cornbread with molasses! Best breakfast ever.

I use my cast iron pan to make my Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day. The book suggests baking their bread on a pizza stone, but I find the cast iron pan works even better. Particularly because a) I don’t have a pizza stone and b) Cast iron pans are easy to take out of a hot oven and then slide the bread dough on to.

I love the smell of fresh baked bread.

Speaking of pizza, I also use my cast iron skillet for making deep dish pizza. Oh my gosh yum. Gets the crust nice and crispy.

Every other weekend or so I make pancakes. My husband really loves pancakes. Anything breakfast really, but pancakes is one of his favourites. Sometimes I put blueberries, or apple and spice or orange zest in my pancakes. But I always cook them in my cast iron pan.Then they get that really dark crispy look on them.

This pan is also great for browning meat (like lets say a pork tenderloin) and then sticking the whole thing right in the oven so it can finish cooking. Works really well for fish too.

It’s my favourite pan to use for caramelizing onions. Or sauteing mushrooms. Or sauteing asparagus.

I have made apple upside down cake in it. I have made crust-less quiche in it. And it makes just about the best darn grilled cheese sandwich one could ever want. Food almost never sticks to it. So it is easy to clean; it hardly ever needs scrubbing.

Essentially what I am saying, is that I couldn’t live without this pan.

What are your favourite tools in your kitchen and why?

7 responses to “The most versatile tool in my kitchen

  1. kelly @kellynaturally November 28, 2010 at 9:53 am

    I want one for Christmas!!!!! I understand it helps naturally inbue your food with iron too – so, it’s good for your health.

  2. The Disgruntled Academic November 28, 2010 at 10:21 am

    I have to agree. My cast iron frying pan is, hands down, the most used item in my kitchen. Have you tried sautéing apples and onions, with a cider reduction to serve with your pork tenderloin? TO DIE FOR!!

  3. Ironic Mom November 28, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    I just finished reading John Irving’s latest novel (Last Night on Twisted River). Cast iron pans can be a deadly weapon too…

  4. SlackerInc November 28, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    My big cast-iron skillet was my fave too…until I got a little miniature one to complement it! Now I find that one is perfect for making my daily spinach omelette.

  5. Ginger November 28, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    I want a cast iron skillet–mostly for the cornbread!

    The most used tool in our kitchen is our dutch oven. We use it for soups and stews, roasts, steaks (mmm, the best steaks ever!), and just about anything you’d use a crockpot for. We probably use it about 4-5 times a week!

