I was going to write….

I was going to write something interesting, intelligent, riveting. You know, my usual fare. (Ha! HA!)

But I just spent 3 hours in traffic. So I am going to whine about random things that annoyed me today and random annoying things I started thinking about while thinking about those random things that annoyed me. Sounds like fun eh? So excited to read on, aren’t you?

Wait, Wait! Isn’t there a blogging meme invented just for this reason? Well, maybe not the whining, but the randomness?

randomtuesday

Oh thank goodness. Hi Keely, over at The Un Mom I thought I’d play along. Hope that’s okay.

  • Winter traffic sucks. Normally I try not to complain about traffic, because really Calgary isn’t that bad. At least not in comparison to Toronto, Montreal or Vancouver. (Not to mention many major U.S. cities). So I kinda scoff when people complain about Calgary traffic.
  • But 3 hours in it gives me the right to complain I think. Winter traffic sucks. Black ice. Drivers doing one of two totally annoying things: going way to fast or way to slow. Good times.
  • Take that an add in screaming poopy (don’t worry, only for the last 20 minutes) toddler demanding: Daddy? Water? Milk? Grandma? Snack? Elmo? Cheese? SNACK?! DADDY?!! CHEESE!!? MILK?!! GRANDMA?!! ! ELMO?!!Β  RASINS!?? WATER??!! Peter Rabbit? Repeat that for about 2 hours. Fun.
  • I got to hand it to the toddler though, she did much better then I would have strapped into a seat while hungry, bored and thirsty.
  • You might ask why we didn’t stop. Trust me we tried. But we were on highways, you know. And always in the wrong lane. Eventually we did. Pita made the situation all better.
  • Did you know that Calgary was the second coldest place on earth today? I am not even kidding
  • You know what I hate even more then driving in the winter? Parking in the winter. You get just a little bit of snow on the ground and no one can see those stupid yellow lines and it turns into the wild wild west. Artistic parking creations to some, maybe. But completely annoying. Especially with Calgary’s tendency for BIG PICKUP TRUCKS. Because there is a strong likelihood that one will park one lane over in a way that makes it impossible to back out of the parking spot as the lanes shift one way or the other.
  • I have a lot of laundry to fold. See:
  • I am not going to fold it.
  • Because I don’t want to. I would rather drink wine.
  • My husband took various forms of bus, train and taxi cab home today. Because we were already stuck in traffic so long that if we went to get home we probably wouldn’t get home until 9pm.
  • I sent him out for wine anyway. I feel like a bit of jerk. But he likes wine too.

Okay, I think I am out of random thoughts. Were they random enough? Kinda united by a general “I’m grumpy” theme, I guess. Anyway, my wine is calling.

7 responses to “I was going to write….

  1. clara November 23, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Enjoy your wine. That commute sounds like a special sort of hell.

  2. Ginger November 23, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    That is quite the laundry pile. But after a 3 hour commute? The laundry can WAIT!

  3. thelexhex November 23, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    I think you have every right to be grumpy. I probably would have flipped my shit and maimed a few people if I were to face similar circumstances. So I guess it’s a good thing that I am snowed in, and thus not given the chance to test that theory.

    And that is a LOT of laundry. I think you should drink a LOT of wine… you know, to balance things out πŸ˜‰

  4. Perpetua November 24, 2010 at 5:07 am

    I am having my mind blown re: Canadians and winter driving. I automatically assumed that you guys would just be better at it than us because it is generally colder and snowier (though not everywhere, I guess). But now I’m hearing all you guys talking about your commutes on twitter, and I’m having a “Canadians! They’re just like us!” moment. πŸ™‚

    • amoment2think November 24, 2010 at 4:55 pm

      Haha- yeah, the thing is we all forget how to drive in the 6 months that we don’t have snow. And also, the roads and the cars are the same… so the only difference is the drivers.

      To be fair, the reason my commute was such a nightmare was that I had to drive to the airport and back to drop off my brother. That was not my normal commute.

  5. hilary November 27, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    After a long commute, and three hours is ridiculous long, I couldnt think of anything better than some wine to go with the whine. Laundry… So can wait!

  6. dbs November 29, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    From winter traffic to laundry to wine. It makes total random sense to me. And, I might have an idea at my blog that might make your parking issues more bearable. I discovered it by accident. See http://thinkstew-dbs.blogspot.com/2010/11/things-that-deserve-stink-eye_26.html
    P.S. I’ve driven in Calgary. I feel your pain.

