Pear and Chorizo Stuffing Recipe

So, yesterday Ramble Ramble posted what looks like an amazing and very unique stuffing recipe. Go check it out… I can’t wait to try it!

Yum yum stuffing. I love it. It is by far my favourite part of any Turkey dinner. I was thinking about what I was going to post today for #NaBloPoMo and I thought, well, let’s do another recipe. So Ginger, I hope its okay that I am stealing your idea and posting my stuffing recipe.

So this is a pear and chorizo stuffing. Can you tell that I LOVE chorizo.. I put it in everything… soup, stuffing, on pizza…. love the stuff.

This recipe is adapted from the stuffing my Dad always makes. And his recipe has addapted over the years. It used to be a very traditional sausage stuffing. One year he put cranberries in it. I was about 12. The whole family went into revolt. Sweet in stuffing? Stuffing is supposed to be savory. And only savory. Poor Dad, just trying to mix it up. But, as our plates matured a little, he started putting pear in the stuffing. Yum yum. Anyway, enough of my rambling. Here is the (anti) recipe.

Take some onions, garlic, cut up pears and the Chorizo (I like to grill my first and then slice it) and put it in a big soup pot. Throw in some butter. Let is cook up until the onions are kinda brown and soft.

Take some really good crusty bread. I don’t use stale bread, I prefer ciabatta or a really grainy french loaf. Something with a lot of crust. Cut it up into chunks or just pull it apart into bite sized pieces.

Throw it on top of your pear/onion/garlic/chorizo mixture.

Put on some spices, you know, traditional stuffing ones. Sage, thyme, salt, pepper, whatever you like.

Then pour some chicken stock over, just enough to soften the bread and mix it all together.

Bake inside or outside of the bird for a good long while. Till it looks really good. (usually about 45 minutes if not in the bird, or however long you cook your turkey if it is in the bird).

Enjoy.

One response to “Pear and Chorizo Stuffing Recipe

  1. Ginger November 21, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Mmmmm, I love stuffing, and I love chorizo, so I’ll have to try this!

