Self Promotion

So I have been thinking lately about self-promotion when it comes to this blog. I have said it probably 10 times before, I don’t write this blog with any hopes of being widely read or making any money from blogging what so ever. This is a hobby. Something I love to do, something that inspires and challenges and excites me. Blogging is my relaxation technique, it keeps me connected, it allows me to talk to really interesting people. I could go on.

But I also love it when people read this blog. I like watching my stats go up, though I don’t analyze them intensely. I LOVE comments and have learned so much from all of you. And I would love to have more people read.

But I am not a ‘toot your own horn’ kinda of person. At least I don’t think I am. I know I am confident person for the most part, but I don’t feel really comfortable self-promoting. I don’t have a facebook page. Lots of bloggers tweet their posts 2 or 3 times. I usually forget. I haven’t joined any blogging networks and this NaBloPoMo thing is the first ‘blogging thing’ I have joined.

Do you notice that badge that appeared on the side of my page this last week? Quietly I put it up. It is a “nominate me” badge “fresh voices 2010” for Momversation. I stumbled upon this when I was on Fearless Formula Feeders blog. She had the same badge and I promptly went and nominated her. Because I think she brings a very valuable, unique perspective and a lot of support to Mom’s.

And then I wondered if I should maybe ignore the feelings I have about being really uneasy with self-promotion and put the badge on my site too. I mean, I am a new voice in blogging of 2010, albeit a very quiet one. I really don’t want anyone to feel obligated to nominate me; there are so many amazing blogs out there. But I think it is a good thing to nominate someone; someone who’s blog really touches you. The idea behind the nomination, as far as I understand it, is to help discover yet undiscovered blogging talent. Well, there is a lot of that out there.

Anyway. I still don’t know how I feel about self-promotion. I am starting to get to the point that I would like to give myself the challenge of growing my readership. I like marketing and social networking and I love challenges. But it makes me uncomfortable. I don’t like asking for people to say they like me. I don’t like asking for people to spread the word about my blog. I don’t like that kind of stuff. But lots of people do it and lots of them do it in ways that are just fine. Some people, yes, go overboard and end up sounding desperate and end up annoying people. I don’t want to do that. But I do think I could get out of my comfort zone just a little…

What do you all think about self-promotion. Do you feel comfortable with it? Where do you think the line is between good marketing and annoying desperation? What do you think are the best ways to grow a blog’s readership?

7 responses to “Self Promotion

  1. Megan November 19, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    Man, being on Momversation is my dream! Unfortunately, my readership is just WAY too small to even think about this right now. But, I will nominate you and FFF! I can nominate more than one person, right?

    I hate shameless self-promotion. It annoys me to no end when people are all “Nominate me! Follow me! Looooove me!”

    BUT. It’s necessary. It’s nice when people can be tactful about it (which, you, of course, are) but if you want to succeed at any job, you need to know how to promote yourself. You are classy, K! Don’t even worry about wanting to expand your readership and take on new challenges. Nothing wrong with that!

  2. Ginger November 19, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    There’s a right way and a wrong way to do self promotion. I…well, surprisingly for my job, I don’t think I’m really good at it personally. I feel like it’s such a personal thing that it’s hard to promote without it feeling like a popularity contest, which then has the potential to hurt my feelings.

    But that’s me and my short comings. I don’t think promotion is bad–it’s in how you do it. It’s in thinking of your current readership first and your possible readership second, rather than the other way around. It’s remembering that it’s NOT about popularity and should be about sharing, interacting and connecting. All of which you do–so promote away!

  3. SlackerInc November 19, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    You have a blog but are not on Facebook? How come? I think you must be the only person in the world in that category, LOL.

    • amoment2think November 19, 2010 at 7:55 pm

      To clarify, I have a personal facebook page, but not a blog one. You know, the ones where you can “like” the blog ( or company or cause or whatever) . And I have only put my blog link on my personal facebook page once or twice. I just meant that I don’t use facebook for self-promotion.

      • Lisa Sunbury November 20, 2010 at 1:01 am

        I would like to suggest you make a facebook page for your blog. If you want to grow your readership, it’s a smart move to make. There are many ways to promote yourself and grow your readership without being annoying. I’ve spent the past year learning about how to do just that, and I’d be so happy to share information and resources with you.

        I understand and empathize with your discomfort around marketing and promoting yourself. I had a web site and blog for two years that I never did one thing to promote. I wrote mostly for myself, and I was happy if someone found me, and wanted to engage, but I was like a small, quiet mouse in the corner.

        Somehow, I was lucky enough to attract a small, but loyal group of readers, and I have regularly received business from the site as well. Like you, I decided that I wanted to grow my readership (and grow my business.) I also very much want to open up a forum for discussion and conversation.

        So this past year I embarked on a quest to discover how to do that, and feel comfortable about it. It’s been a pretty interesting journey, and I’m getting excited because my re-designed site is about finished and ready to be launched.

        Creating a facebook page, joining twitter, finding like-minded people to connect and build relationships with, and commenting on other people’s blogs, are all things I have recently started to do, and which I really enjoy. And I have started to see positive results already.

        You have a really great blog. Thoughtful and thought provoking, you write on topics I care about, and you do it in a non-judgmental manner, which encourages open conversation and dialogue. I really enjoy reading, and am happy to pass the word, because I want others to benefit, and join the conversation.

        I have been enjoying your posts this month, and I really admire how you are stretching yourself, taking risks, and experimenting with different kinds of posts and topics. You are inspiring me as well. I was thrilled when I saw your badge, and I did nominate you!

        If you are putting out good content, and you are responsive to others, people will come and read and pass the word!

        Again, please let me know if you’d like more specifics or links to resources. I would love to see you succeed in your goals, and I’d love to share what I am learning, as well as have someone to inspire me!

  4. Fearless Formula Feeder November 28, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    Consider yourself nominated, lady. I LOVE this blog. And if you don’t start promoting yourself more, I will do it for you. That’s a warning.

