Me. In 500 words or less.

So, I was on twitter yesterday and I tweeted:

And the lovely Accidentsss from Accidents Will Happen (whom if you haven’t read you should…. she is too funny and smart and interesting! And one of the first bloggers I connected with out here on the big scary interwebs.) suggested this:

First off, thanks and all. I don’t feel smart most days, but I do like to ask questions. Secondly, sure… I can share the background story. Doing this though, reminds me of this awesome post from Susan over at life.inbalance.sortof. wrote this great post a while back about catching old friends up on 20 years of your life via Facebook in a short paragraph. Go read it.

Anyway, I feel kinda the same way trying to answer Accidentsss questions. What to say? I don’t know. So I am just going to start writing and see what comes out.

I grew up in Calgary. I have a wonderful family, wonderful parents, (now) wonderful siblings. Life was pretty good.

I moved to the west coast to go to university and did my Bachelors of Arts in Political Science at SFU in Burnaby. I met my future husband. I studied international relations and thought I would go on to do a Masters in Poli Sci looking at the way language is used to set precedent in international law. But I needed a break and didn’t get into the school I wanted, so I started working in retail management. Which is essentially the easy way out for an arts grad. Work took us back to Calgary. Eventually I saw the light and got out of retail and took a job at the university doing, more or less, admin. I worked hard and did good stuff and now I am in a strategic marketing, business development and program coordinator role.

We got married. We wanted a family. We were told by my doctor that because of my PCOS it could take years for us to start a family. So we decided that we would start early and see what happened. I was pregnant a month after our wedding. HA!

And now I am here. I started blogging while on matt leave, because I needed something for me, I love writing, and I wanted to reach out and communicate. I have a great job, a great husband and a great daughter. Great family, great friends and great online friends that I hope to someday meet in real life.

Wow. I did that in 400 words!

5 responses to “Me. In 500 words or less.

  1. Cheryl November 14, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Not easy to do in 400 words! Might I add that, while in retail, you were an awesome boss. I’m pretty thankful for the fruity soap that allowed us to meet πŸ™‚

  2. Perpetua November 14, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    I hope we all meet in real life one day, too. πŸ™‚

    Off topic: I love how the tweet quotes look! So cute. And I think I’m going to steal this 500 word thing for my nablopomo today.

    • amoment2think November 14, 2010 at 2:40 pm

      I know, wordpress just did this thing for twitter where you just have to enter in the url for the tweet and it makes it all pretty and stuff. I don’t know how to use it with the new twitter, but it is awesome!!!

      And steal steal away.

      And tell me if you are ever heading towards the Alberta Rockies!!

  3. Ginger November 14, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    You know, I think I knew you had a Poli Sci background, but I didn’t *know* (you know?). It makes so much sense to me in how you reason and approach topics with that piece of information.

    Also? I’m very impressed you did that in 400 words!

  4. Megan November 14, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    We need to plan a big meet-up someday. The thought of meeting all you guys makes me unreasonably giddy.

    That’s so funny about you getting pregnant so quickly! Isn’t that always the way?

    I think I’m going to switch to WordPress. I can’t do anything cool on Blogger. That’s my project over the next couple weeks. That, and starting a food section!

    Love the new look!

