ControverSunday Topic December 5th: Oh the holidays!

badges

So, I am using a NaBloPoMo get out of jail free card today and posting then next ControverSunday topic. I have a bunch of posts that I am working on for this week, but none of them do I feel comfortable hitting publish on. (One of them is a bit of a confession/over share so I am nervous about posting it.) So! Topic announcement it is! Yeah!

First off can I say that I am THRILLED that we had so many participants this week for ControverSunday!! I can’t tell you how happy that made me. Thank you Thank you Thank you! And it was great to read everyone’s perspectives (I have a bunch of comments to make, but haven’t had a chance… I will soon!) If you haven’t already, please check out all the participants.

So I think the monthly is working out. It makes it more of a special occasion and I think it is more realistic. And sure, most of us procrastinated and wrote our posts at the last minute despite the extra notice cause, you know, we are human. But I still think the long topic notice helps. You know, time to simmer with our thoughts.

I was thinking our topic for December 5th should be rather festive, don’t you think? I also want to try and open the topic up more to non-parenting types. But, lets be honest, most of our current participants like to talk kids, so I wanted the topic to work with them too.

So. Drum roll please…

Let’s talk about the holidays. What do you think about the North American holiday season? Too long? Too short? What about the focus? (Presents, time with family, ect) The traditions? The religious focus of it? How does that impact people that are not of the same faith in our multicultural society? What about multi-faith families? Do you have any holiday pet peeves?

Essentially, I am inviting you to share your thoughts about what you think is the most controversial about the holidays. Take it where ever you want it to go.

(Oh, and if you are reading this and all like “what the heck is ControverSunday?” then check out the ControverSunday page. Which I will update as soon. But it gives you the general drift.)

3 responses to “ControverSunday Topic December 5th: Oh the holidays!

  1. Jen November 8, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    AWESOME topic. Thanks K!

  2. Perpetua November 8, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Love it! I have Much To Say, especially since we have two religions and don’t really practice either of them. So glad there was a big turn-out for ControverSunday! 🙂

  3. Pingback: NaBloPoMo; So long, farewell… |

