Sweet Potato, Squash and Chorizo Soup Anti Recipe

So I don’t do recipes when I cook, usually. I do when I bake, cause otherwise I will mess up, particularly on the baking powder/baking soda front. (I always read that part of the recipe like 25 times to make sure I don’t mix them up. Anyways.)

But, I am not a big recipe person when I cook. It’s different.

I work on the pinch of this, pinch of that principle.

A couple weeks ago I had this squash sitting there and I needed something to do with it. Someone tweeted about soup and I thought SOUP! Yeah Soup! It was cold, dark and foggy, so I went with it.

I looked at about 5 different squash or sweet potato soup type recipes. Just to get the basic idea of proportions of ingredients and the best way to cook the squash. And then I improvised. Here is my Anti-Recipe Recipe.

Take a sweet potato and a squash (I have now used both butternut squash and that other kind that starts with a D and is longish and yellow with green stripes. Anyone know what it is called?). Cut them into half or quarters or whatever. Take any seeds out of the squash.

Now brush them both with a bit of olive oil and stick on a pan in a 350 degree oven for, I don’t know, a while. More then 25 minutes, less then 45? I wasn’t paying attention. But till they be nice and soft. Soft enough that you can mash them.

Take them out of the oven and let them cool.

Chop a smallish onion, a couple cloves of garlic and spicy chorizo sausage and a good lump of butter. Pretend you are Paula Deen. Throw that in a good heavy soup pot and put it on medium. Let it cook up and simmer and get all good smelling.

Then peel the skin off your cooked squash and sweet potato, put in a big bowl and mash it up good. Then toss it into the big soup pot with your onions, garlic and chrizo all cooked up and good smelling.

Add some kind of stock. I have used both veg stock and chicken stock, both work. How much? I don’t know, depends on how much squash and sweet potato you have and if you like your soup as thick as oatmeal or as thin is veggie juice. This recipe lends its self to more of a thick stew consistency, but it is up to you. Add and mix till it looks right.

Poor in a splash of milk or cream or nothing, it is up to you. This soup probably doesn’t need the creamyness, but I like it, so I add it. Stir it all together.

Let it bubble away for about 10-15 minutes. Or less if you are running short of time. Then taste and season with salt or pepper if need be.

Oh, one last piece of advice- Make a BIG pot. Trust me, you want leftovers for this one.

Enjoy!

What are your favourite anti-recipe recipes?

11 responses to “Sweet Potato, Squash and Chorizo Soup Anti Recipe

  1. Megan November 5, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Yum! I will try this for sure. It will be a big hit with my husband. He loves chorizo, and he gets really excited when I prepare any kind of meat for him, so I’m sure he’ll love it.

    Okay, I am seriously going to set up a recipe section on my blog. We need a place where we can talk all food all the time. I just need to see if I can figure out how…

  2. Ginger November 5, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    Oooh, that sounds absolutely delish. I’m forwarding this to my husband, so he can make this for me next time it’s not 100 degrees outside (in November. I’m over it).

    My favorite anti-recipe is for green chile stew. It’s mostly an ingredient list: ground meat (if that’s your thing–we usually use buffalo), potato, beans (we usually use kidney, but have used white, pinto & black before), onion, stock (I usually use chicken or beef whatever we have on hand), a can of stewed tomatoes if you have it. Oh, and roasted green chile. We use fresh when we have it, and canned when we don’t. Salt, pepper, cumin to taste.

    Cook the meat and onions (season these a little w/salt, pepper, cumin). Add the potato at some point. Let that all cook up some. Pour in the tomato. Pour in the green chile. Pour in the beans. Pour in the stock. I usually use two cans, but whatever floats your boat–I try to cover all the ingredients, then past that, it depends on if I want it soupier or stewier.

    Salt, pepper, cumin to taste. cook for…a while? 45 minutes- 4 hours? It can cook for a good long time and not get mushy, but it can be done pretty quickly too. It’ll start to smell amazing, and that’s about when its done.

    Serve w/ a little grated cheese. Some sour cream wouldn’t be awful probably.

  3. Briana November 5, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    YUM. I’m making this right now.

    • Briana November 5, 2010 at 7:28 pm

      I turned it into a bit of stew, adding chunks of potato, cauliflower & carrot. I used an acorn squash. It was delish, and Will really liked it too! I’d do a couple of things differently next time: use two sweet potatoes instead of one, and chop the chorizo more finely.

  4. Lisa Sunbury November 5, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    OK, so I know what I’m making for dinner tonight! This sounds delicious, and easy! I love how you describe your recipe and cooking process. I’m Italian, and learned to cook from my mother, and grandmother, and there were never any written recipes to follow. It was always- some of this, a little of that, a pinch of the other, take a taste, and maybe add a little more. How does it look, small, taste, feel? These were the important questions. Even when there was a recipe, it was considered more of a guideline, rather than something to be followed to the letter. I almost failed Home Economics. in the 7th grade, because, according to my teacher, I didn’t measure carefully enough when we made chocolate chip cookies, and other baked goods. It kind of drove my teacher crazy, because the cookies I made always turned out really good….

    • amoment2think November 6, 2010 at 1:14 pm

      That is funny. Ah, Home Ec.

      Yeah, I agree, it is a more traditional way of cooking. Loosely defined ‘recipes’ being passed down the family. And it is soooo important in my opinion to taste food as you cook it, or else how do you know what to add!

  5. Perpetua November 7, 2010 at 5:03 am

    I starred this in my reader so I can come back and make it. 🙂

  6. Cheryl November 7, 2010 at 9:32 am

    This answers my “what do I do with this squash (the one beginning with D, delicata or something) that I’ve never had before” question. Can’t wait to try it. I love your anti-recipe style, I think it’ll work for me!

  7. Pingback: Pear and Chorizo Stuffing Recipe |

