Books destroyed: take two

I submit for your approval two pieces of photographic evidence:

I wrote a post a number of months ago, when Audrey was probably 10 months old or so, about how my baby eats books. Want to hear something funny? That post is one of the small handful that brings people to my blog via google search terms. Ha! I guess I am not alone.

Well, Audrey isn’t a baby anymore and she doesn’t eat books anymore. But, as the evidence provided shows, she still destroys them.

Exhibit A, well we will get to that in a minute. But in Exhibit B you will see three of her favourite books she has destroyed. You may recognize one of them as The Very Hungry Caterpillar and yes, that is the THIRD copy of it she has ripped to shreads.

Tip for you new Moms out there, if you get gifted a wonderful classic baby book like 3 times and you instinct is to re-gift or return or whatever… you may want to wait a couple months to see if you child is also a book destroyer, in which case you may want to hold on to all 3 copies. On second thought, if you see an opportunity to buy like 10 copies on sale.. you might even want to consider that. Just a tip from me to you.

Also in Exhibit B you will see Audrey’s absolute favourite book de jure: Peter Rabbit. She loves her some peter and demands to take peter to bed most nights. Do you see the bit marks on the binding. Yep. She loves peter so much she gives him a little nibble as she is falling asleep. Peter is also now missing the first couple pages. She loves those pages so much she just cant help but pull them out.

And lastly, in Exhibit B, you will see Pancake, Pancake by Eric Carle. LOVE this book, as it goes through all the ingredients to make a pancake and has Jack actually doing the work to make them (cut the wheat, mill the flour, milk the cow, ect.) before he can eat his morning pancake. Audrey asks for this book by name.

She insisted it go with her in the car the other day. Husband and I were sitting in the front seat when we heard “rip rip” and saw that Audrey had loved that book to shreds too, but removing the first couple pages and then crumpling them up.

P.S. Replacement books are on her Christmas list.

Okay, so the toddler destroys books. I mean she love books, but she also destroys them. Ahh, toddlerhood.

So now lets talk about Exhibit A. (Really I should have made this Exhibit B, but I uploaded weird and I am too lazy to fix it.) Anyway. Audrey likes to read books a lot. And while sometimes we do get tired of reading the same book to her 25000 times a day, we are all for encouraging her love of reading. Soon enough she will only read teenager magazines (online I guess) and twitter feeds. BUT. We have a couple books which for now, are being taken out of the rotation. Because reading them makes me (and husband) want to poke our eyes with a stick.

(Mom, don’t take offense, I think you bought most of them.) Here is the thing, it is hard to ‘read’ a book with just pictures and the accompanying sounds. There is no plot line. No sentences. I just can’t do the funny noises anymore and still keep my sanity. Nor can I read a book that asks you to put cheerios in spots without a pile of cheerios to fulfill the instructions. “Some of the leopards are missing spots, can you help?” NO!!

So they are banned. Because I can. I know, I am a mean Mom.

12 responses to “Books destroyed: take two

  1. Stephanie November 4, 2010 at 9:03 am

    Love, love, love this one! I, too, have a daughter that loves books, yet it is a love that is really hard on those books. Before I became a stay-at-home Mom I managed a bookstore for 10 years, so we have a lot of books in our house and I was so excited when it seemed Miss M would love books as much as I do. However, what was cute at the beginning (eating board books. . .how sweet!) has turned into a relationship with books and reading that is sometimes painful to witness. We too have the books that frequently are destroyed and need to be purchased again (Chicky, Chicky, Chook, Chook, Baby Cakes, and Moo Baa La La La,) but the real sadness comes when it is books that have a special meaning to me are destroyed. For instance, the Laura Numeroff (If you give a mouse a cookie author) signed book that I have from meeting the author while pregnant with Miss M (that was a husband not paying attention moment of destruction.) So, I’ve learned to live with my books in boxes until she gets a bit older, but from one Mom to another I so understand your pain!

    • amoment2think November 5, 2010 at 10:58 am

      Oh, that is so Sad!!! I know, I have a couple books that were actually my books when I was a baby. Audrey loves them a lot. And I will cry if any of them get destroyed. I watch her carefully with them.

  2. Jen November 4, 2010 at 9:32 am

    I have that cheerio book – my mom got it at the thrift shop for a quarter and I mocked it. Hang on to it. We eat Heritage o’s at our house. Kale suddenly loves this book (at 2.5)

  3. Lisa Sunbury November 4, 2010 at 11:10 am

    This made me laugh! Thought you might like to check out a board book for toddlers called Books Are For Reading (Not Eating), by Suzy Becker, that has a soft teething corner, and is a hoot.. Our book eating toddler loves it, and it is fun for us to read to him as well.

  4. clara November 4, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    Wow, I guess you can’t go to the library! Ouchie!

    I have seen about 100 of those cheerio books at Value Village.

  5. Megan November 4, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    Oh, Audrey, one day you will meet your separated twin, Charlotte, and you two can tear up all the books in all the land!

  6. Megan November 5, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Totally! Let me know when you want to do it. đŸ™‚

  7. Briana November 5, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    Oh it would drive me bonkers if my kids were book-destroyers! Wesley has shredded only one or two in his life, both when he was older (and feeling disgruntled I guess). Nora loves books, but she won’t sit still to read them. She just brings them to me and turns all the pages and takes it back if I try to read! Both kids are pretty gentle with the books though, thank goodness!

