ControverSunday: The Final Verdict. Really. I promise. Well… lets give it a try.

You will have noticed that I have been conspicuously absent in the ControverSunday discussion and I know you all haven’t really heard a peep from me about it since my last post. I have been giving it a really really good think. First off, here are the poll results.

13 votes. 5 said LOVE IT!, 4 said you like it but…. and 4 said goodbye. So to me, that means about 31% of voters are ready to say goodbye and 69% of voters kinda want to keep it, but would like to see some changes. So. Majority wins. Some changes it is and we will give it a go for an other couple months.

Here are my proposed ControverSunday changes:

Once a month. Let’s go with first Sunday of every month. (I would have suggested last Sunday of every month but that would mean the next ControverSunday would be on Halloween.  Not a good idea me thinks.)

I (or who ever would like to guest host) posts the topic post the 3rd Wednesday of every month- thereby giving everyone more then a week to write up your posts and schedule them for the first Sunday of the next month. That is the key people- write your post WAY ahead of time and then just schedule it for Sunday morning.

While I am not a hard ass enough to be uber strict with the posting date, PLEASE PRETTY PLEASE post on Sunday, preferably Sunday morning. This will avoid that ‘but everything I was going to say has already been said’ feeling.

Also- I am thinking about taking the gloves off and go for the really controversial topics once and a while. The thing about blogging is that you need to have a thick skin- something I am learning. But if we are so afraid to say what we really think then why have a blog as a platform for what we think and what we really want to talk about?

And an other thing: I would really LOVE some non-parenting topics. Both Ginger and Mama Tortoise made some great topic suggestions in the comments of the last post, which I will totally add to the roster. But it would be really good to spread our wings to something else, something more inclusive. So anyone that has some non-parenting topics they would like to sent my way- that would be awesome. I am pondering a few.

Lastly- I want to introduce a mission statement for ControverSunday. It goes a little something like this:

ControverSunday is a collaborative blog meme, whereby the goal is to share, discuss and hear out different perspectives on parenting, society and other stuff that matters. All those who participate bring to the table a unique perspective and approach others with mutual respect. Participating is a way to build community, to learn something and to reflect and evaluate our own choices.

All that being said, what should our first topic be? Vote!!! Vote!!! (Today is the Calgary Civic Election- so I am all about the Vote!)

4 responses to “ControverSunday: The Final Verdict. Really. I promise. Well… lets give it a try.

  1. Perpetua October 19, 2010 at 4:43 am

    I love it, K, especially the mission statement. I think it’s smart to both slow down the posting rate and up the controversy. 🙂 I will definitely participate the first week of the New and Improved ControverSunday.

  2. Jen October 19, 2010 at 8:47 am

    I need more time than a week. Can we not post the topic the week after the previous one and have three weeks to write on it? If we are going once a month, I’d like that whole month to ruminate, write, and edit my post. No big deal if that won’t work fo everyone else, but for me it wasn’t how frequently ControverSunday happened, it was more about how much time there was between topic announcement and posting it.

    • amoment2think October 19, 2010 at 6:07 pm

      I could do that. What I suggested gives one almost a week and a half, but I am all for the more time the better. We will try it this way this month (because I can’t reverse time) and then go for your suggestion next month.

  3. Jen October 20, 2010 at 8:19 am

    Sounds good! Thanks for being so flexible!

