Advice from a friend

Let me tell you about our mornings. They go a little something like this:

Audrey wakes us up between 5:45 and 6:15, usually. We don’t need an alarm clock, we wake up to the sounds of “Done. Done. Mommy. Daddy. Done. Hello.” Cute.

At which point I nudge my husband and say “your baby is awake.” He takes first shift, gets up and gets Audrey changed and dressed. Then they head downstairs and he starts the coffee. In the mean time I get showered and dressed.

By 6:45 I am downstairs and we switch. My husband goes to get ready and I get Audrey fed as well as (in theory) tidy the kitchen, make lunches and have my own breakfast. Oh, and I gulp coffee. (Have I mentioned that I am more then a bit obsessed with having a clean kitchen. The rest of the house could be practically covered in mud and I don’t care so long as my kitchen is clean. I need space to cook people.)

Once husband is ready he has breakfast while I walk the dog. (He walks the do in the evening.) When we are both done, we head out the door. (around 8:00am)

Now this all sounds well and good. Except. You see, Audrey isn’t a fan of our morning routine. In fact, she is down right clingy, whiny and a big ol’ nightmare. Most of the morning I have a toddler who follows me around saying ‘up?! up?!’ or who attaches herself to my leg and won’t let go.

Sound familiar? I am sure we have all had moments like these. But I am at the end of my rope.

So. I asked for help. I may not be a ‘theory’ parent, but I have to tell you all that I LOVE Janet Lansbury’s blog and her advice. Not just because it is great advice. But because of the way she delivers it. Janet has a way about her to that just makes you feel more confident as a parent and really inspired to do the best you can.

Anyway, I asked for her advice, cause I knew what she had to say was what I needed to hear. And here is her advice to me, go take a read.

Thank you Thank you Janet. Great advice!

2 responses to “Advice from a friend

  1. janetlansbury September 7, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Kathleen, I was honored when you emailed me and I’m even more honored now. Thanks so much for trusting me. You have WONDERFUL instincts. No one could be a more sensitive, intuitive mom. Audrey is such a lucky girl! You will look back on these rough parenting days with longing in a few years… In the early years with my 3 children, when I was in the midst of a parenting firestorm (like moving houses, toddler tantrums, whatever), a wonderful friend 10 years older than me with amazing, brilliant children of her own used to remind me, “Enjoy…enjoy this time.” Now, I really appreciate her wisdom.

  2. kelly @kellynaturally September 8, 2010 at 10:32 am

    Great advice; thank you for sharing! I’ve found repeatedly that when my children are “needy” just 10 minutes of at-their-level attention can work wonders.

