ControverSunday: the mistake of the double topic

So yeah, I have already written a ControverSunday post on Discipline. And yet I suggested it as a possible topic. The lovely Megan over at Now Your In the World, is hosting this week and she wanted to go with this topic. I blame the fact that our kids are both driving us nuts lately as reason why we totally forgot that we had already addressed this in our ControverSunday topic list.

But, you know, we did it way back in May. It was so long ago. When our toddlers weren’t as toddlerish as they are now. Ha. I can just imagine how I will feel in an other 6 months and then in a couple years. Oye, this toddler discipline thing is getting harder by the day.

Anyway, house keeping first. SO. We really want this ControverSunday thing to keep going. But we need some hosts. Perpetua, who got this whole thing going, would really appreciate some help. I will certainly be on the list for the rotating hosting, but we would also love it if some of you would like to play. Here is the funnest thing about hosting: you get to pick the topic!! So please head over to Perpetua and volunteer for some week in the future and tell her what topic you would like to do. There is a current list here. Oh, and add your topics, we love ideas! (So we don’t have to mistakenly re-use ideas because we have vacation/toddler brain and we suggest ideas even through we have totally written about them before. Ha!). Oh, and Megan’s feeling lonely this week, so please write up a post and get your badge from Accidents to join the conversation by getting the link up over at Megan’s.

badges

So I re-read my post about discipline. Not much has changed in my opinion. But I have certainly had to flex my discipline muscle considerably more then when I wrote that post. I find myself questioning if I am picking my battles well and not pushing things that are not realistic expectations. I question if Audrey can understand the nuisances of discipline. Like how come she is allowed to go up big fat long stairs (with nice soft wood chips 1 foot down) at the park by herself but not up steep, scary, little stairs with concrete floors at the bottom at my parents place without asking please and taking someone with her. I ask myself, after 30 minute of tantrum where I have not backed down and let her play for 2 more minutes, “Was that really necessary? How fair was it for me to pull her away without much warning communicated?” I am finding myself very stubborn at not giving in, even if I realize that maybe I should have done something different. Essentially, I am working hard to stick to my beliefs about discipline and making mistakes along the way. Saying it, knowing it and doing it are three different things. Ya know?

And this is just the beginning.

(Okay, that’s all I got. Now go visit Megan.)

5 responses to “ControverSunday: the mistake of the double topic

  1. Megan August 16, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Yeah, you and I need to get it together!

    Oh, well. At least we’re getting back in the swing of things.

    I totally know what you mean about doubting yourself when you stick to your guns. I feel bad, too, because I wonder if she understands why she’s not getting her way. But, you an I both know how sharp these kids are. I think they do get it. They’re just damn good at playing with our emotions.

    I cave on stuff more than I thought I would. i like to think of it as picking my battles, but realistically I know it can sometimes come form a place of sheer exhaustion or laziness. I’m working on it!

  2. Perpetua August 17, 2010 at 6:48 am

    I think this is a great topic for all of us to revisit, especially since our kids weren’t even close to being “discipline age” a year ago!

  3. kelly @kellynaturally August 18, 2010 at 8:58 am

    “Saying it, knowing it and doing it are three different things. Ya know?”

    Yes, and it only gets harder as they get older. And easier in some ways, because you can use more reasoning, and get input on rules, etc. And then you add another child to the mix…

    But I agree, you can be all set in your mind what you want to do, then when you are confronted with the issue, we tend to respond in a knee-jerk way, or based on how we’re feeling at the time instead of thinking it through. I forgive myself, go over the situation in my mind, plan a better strategy next time, and over time, have become a better parent.

    I enjoyed your discipline post, btw.
    Also, would like to take part in the ControverSunday postings, but can’t volunteer to host – just yet – still learning my way around the blogging platform. And time management. 😉

    • amoment2think August 18, 2010 at 8:19 pm

      Yeah Kelly, I am totally with you. I think that when we make mistakes, re-assess and then learn from it we grow as parents.

      Also, I would LOVE if you would joint ControverSunday one week. It is always great to have new people join in and it always generates such great discussion.

