Hoping the Internet will find me a camisole

Okay, so I am desperate.

For a camisole.

I know.

Really?

Yes.

I have been wearing the same 4 (2 black, 2 white) camisoles from Thyme Maternity for the last 2 + years. I know. Maternity clothing is expensive and it isn’t always cool. But WOW does it fit my curvy body. I mean, that bit of a belly and bigger bust that comes with pregnancy? I have that pregnant or not. So while I have long since packed away my maternity clothing (with no intention to bring it out again anytime soon) I can not give up my camisoles.

They are falling apart. Pilling. Fading. And are covered with baby/toddler induced stains (on the white ones anyway, the black ones you can’t tell) that I can’t get out. They need to go in the bin.

But I can’t find a replacement.

The other day I appealed to the collective wisdom of Twitter, hoping someone would help. The lovely Jen of @jenarbo suggested Pennington’s. So I went there. I struck out. The tanks were too big and they didn’t meet the criteria. What is the criteria you ask?

The Criteria:

Camisole, thin straps, shelf bra, cotton, not shiny, not lacy, comes in both black and white (bonus points if it comes in brown), and isn’t more then $19 each.

Anyway, Penningtons struck out. They sent me to Addition Elle. Also a miss. The closest they had was one black, with a little lace, that was too low in the back to cover my bra and was $30. $30 for a layering piece? You have to be kidding me.

I went to Old Navy: not long enough in the body. I have tried Superstore: too small in the bust. Gap: too expensive and no bra shelf. Reitmans and Ricki’s: What up with the nylon?

Here are my biggest camisole pet peeves:

too short- when they barely hit my hips and I have to pull them down all day

too small in the bust- why oh why when they make a size bigger do they not make it bigger in all regards? The XL’s fit A cups I swear.

lacy or otherwise embellished. I wear these under stuff. I don’t want any flourish to make itself known.

shiny fabric. I like natural fibers people. That shiny stuff rides up. And it doesn’t breath. COTTON people, COTTON.

So, I am appealing to the collective knowledge of the interwebs. Someone, Someone tell me where I can buy (in Canada) or order (into Canada) some basic, simple, reasonably priced camisole that is long enough and has room in the bust. Someone? If anyone knows I company out there that carries something, I would be happy (HAPPY) to buy one and sing your praises loudly and often.

I think I am going to be making a trip to the maternity store. Sigh.

8 responses to “Hoping the Internet will find me a camisole

  1. Perpetua August 3, 2010 at 7:39 am

    You already struck out with my only suggestion, Old Navy. I’d just re-buy the maternity ones, or maybe look on ebay or elsewhere to see if someone is selling them? I wouldn’t drive myself silly trying to find a non-maternity replacement. (And if it makes you feel any better, I still wear some maternity tops that are now blousy/flowy, whereas before they were…not 🙂

  2. Briana August 3, 2010 at 7:45 am

    What about Land’s End online? You can return any misfits to Sears and the sale prices are good. I’d also try Victoria’s Secret. But really, if the maternity ones are perfect, I’d stick with what works. No one will know where you got th (unless they read your blog!). I would do a bit of googling first to see if you can buy them cheaper online!

  3. Jen August 3, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Ooh, just had a thought. Have you tried Reitmans? I have one from there I quite like.

  4. Cheryl August 5, 2010 at 9:03 am

    Hmm, I probably wear these as layering pieces as often as you. I’ve found long, cotton ones at Fairweather for cheap but they don’t have a shelf bra. I also still have my Old Navy maternity ones from pregnancy #1.
    I have found one or two at La Senza, but they might be short. (At least they fit in the bust. If they fit mine, they’ll fit yours, lol.)

    Marks Work Warehouse might be worth a try. Some of theirs have a weird cup bra thing but I don’t think they all do. I wish I could be more help … I find it kind of hard to live without them too 🙂

  5. amoment2think August 7, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Thanks all for your suggestions! I am going to try Lands End and Marks Work Warehouse when I get back to Calgary. Will report back any success!

  6. Susan August 9, 2010 at 7:41 am

    RW & Co, Chinook Mall. There’s are really long. Wash well. Built in bra. Good times.

  7. Sarah August 13, 2010 at 8:52 am

    When I was pregnant I got some from Target and some from JC Penney. I think I wore them every day that I was pregnant. I kind of miss them now that i gave them to my s-i-l for her pregnancy.

