Little rays of sunshine

Do you ever meet someone that you wish you could just bottle up as sunshine and put on a shelf to save for  when you are feeling down?

I have met a handful of this type of person over the years and I would just like to say that they are fabulous. You can encounter them in all sorts of places. Coffee shop baristas, event coordinators, CAA  offices, benefit coordinators. They are everywhere, doing all sorts of things. But they are also quite rare. You know what I mean right, the kind of people that you can have a conversation about some mundane, routine point of business, and yet you walk away feeling lighter. happier. And you can’t help but smile.

It wasn’t that they complimented you. Or said anything really out of the ordinary. It wasn’t that they did you some big favour. They weren’t fake bubbly or contrived. They were just infectious with their obvious joy for life and their innate friendliness. And you genuinely felt that they connected with you.

I wish I knew their secret. I mean, being human, that they therefore get grouchy, tired, frustrated, ornary and just plain oblivious like the rest of us. But is hard to believe because they just seem so darn full of happiness. How do these people do it? It doesn’t seem to be something everyone can do. I am sure if I tried I would come across as fake. I mean, I count myself as a reasonably friendly person, but I am talking the pure sunshine type. And I have enough of a dry, sarcastic streak that I don’t think I will ever be akin to pure sunshine.

But I would like to take a page out of their book. Be a little more sunshine-esque. Make people feel a little lighter after talking to me. I wonder, just how does one do this?

I have to be said, there really is something to that idea of ‘passing on a smile.’ Today, I was in the passenger side of a car leaving a parking lot (we were going quite slow) and a older guy holding a stem of lilacs approached the car and knocked on my window. At first I didn’t know what to do. I mean, it’s one thing for a stranger to approach you in a store or something, it is quite an other thing to walk up to a moving car and knock on the window. It is out of the ordinary, and I think we all think twice when faced with and out of the ordinary situation. But he had the lilacs in his hand, which seemed like a sign of peace. And Calgary isn’t exactly what you would call a crime ridden city. So I rolled the window down. He handed me the flowers and said he hoped it would make my day.

It did.

Despite our short interaction, I am pretty confident this guy was not your ‘bottle of sunshine’ kind of guy. But maybe he met a ‘bottle of sunshine’ recently and decided to take a page out of their book.

3 responses to “Little rays of sunshine

  1. Ginger June 23, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Oh, I wish I was one of those people. What magical fairy dust do those people get when they’re born? I love spending any bit of time around those folks, one because they make me feel better and two because I hope some of that will rub off on me.

  2. Perpetua June 24, 2010 at 4:49 am

    The last time I remember being like that, I was 18 and reeeeeally into Buddhism (bet you thought I was going to say drugs 🙂

    Which isn’t to say that such attitudes are the gift of the young or enlightened or anything like that. I’m sure I could pull it off if I actually tried. I just spend too much of my time obsessing over nasty mundane crap.

  3. Jocelyn June 24, 2010 at 7:14 am

    Well, I am now starting my day with a smile as a result of reading this post. You are indeed passing on the sun. Plus is might have been the person I did not see today but could hear whistling a pretty darn good version of “ode to joy”. Not a bad way to come to work.

