On a fast train to toddlerville

and I have nothing but mixed feelings.

First of all, just in case you doubt that a 1 year old could already be displaying toddler-like behaviour, here is a brief synopsis of our weekend:

1) Screaming, crying and pointing at nothing but air, indicating she wants something but has no way to express what. I keep handing her things, she hits them down and continues to scream. This process continues for 35-45 minutes until I either figure out what she wants (one time it was cheerios, no other food accepted, just cheerios. They weren’t even in the room.) or she gets bored and goes back to playing.

2) She has mastered the go-limp-arch back-flail technique for avoiding being put in a stroller or front carrier. Awesome. She has not yet attempted this technique with the car seat. But she will.

3) “Put me down now!” Gone are the days when I could happily occupy her in a stroller or carrier while doing errands- she wants to walk around and explore AKA make a big mess and toddle off.

4) Toddling. Yes, she has all but mastered the art of toddling, which by definition makes her a toddler. She is picking up speed by the day. Ahhhhhh!

So how does this all make me feel you ask? Is it:

a) Missing my ‘baby’

b) Terrified at dealing with the ‘terrible twos’ that seem to have started at 12 months and that might last until she is 8 (if my behaviour as a child is any indication, says my father)

c) So proud and impressed at her growing up and becoming ‘her own person.’ She may be trouble sometimes, but she has such a joyous little personality that I love.

d) Doubting my own ability as a Mother to put up with her trouble making without going crazy and getting too frustrated

Yes, you guessed it. All of the above.

P.s. help!

10 responses to “On a fast train to toddlerville

  1. Bree April 5, 2010 at 11:39 am

    A few things I’ve learned about toddlers: hunger, tiredness or any other discomfort leads to more tantrums. Also, they mirror your mood. If you are mad about something, expect an angry toddler tantrum! Giving choices helps, as does lots of distraction and time outs for yourself to calm down if the buttonpushing becomes too much! The other thing I notice is that our days run more smoothly when I start with time together before attempting to get things done. When I don’t, Wes finds ever more creative ways to get my attention!

    • amoment2think April 5, 2010 at 2:52 pm

      Oh, yes, the mood mirror. I keep reminding myself that…. must not come home from work grumpy!!!

      I look forward to choices…. right now she doesn’t quite get the concept, or if she does, she doesn’t have a reliable way of communicating her preferred choice.

      Thank you. I can always count on you for good advice!!!

  2. Brooke April 5, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Have you read anything about Love and Logic? It’s my favorite parenting philosophy, and it helps remind you to always approach a situation with love and in control.

    Their personalities are so fun. It makes up for the bad behavior. And the car seat struggles will come. I promise.

  3. Megan April 6, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Once again, you and I are on EXACTLY the same page.

    Charlotte is displaying all of these behaviors and my feelings are about as mixed as yours.

    It’s hard to remind myself to be patient sometimes, but I am trying to roll with the punches. I read somewhere that they are trying to assert their independence, but still want to be the baby sometimes, and they need to know you will still be there for them.

    That helps me be more sympathetic now when she gets clingy or won’t feed herself. So, I indulge her, but also try not to get my feelings hurt when she wants nothing to do with her.

    But, this is why I’m struggling with the weaning…

  4. Megan April 6, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    Oops! I meant “nothing to do with me”.

  5. Susan April 7, 2010 at 8:29 am

    I have the phrase “Cultivate Patience” up on the notice board in my 4 yr old daughter’s room. I put it up there when she was a tiny baby, and I’d be sitting in that room for hours breastfeeding, rocking, watching the time tick away. And I realized that as a parent I had to adapt to her pace. And I was struggling with it.

    I never took the phrase down, becauase I have found it has kept applying to every stage we go through together. It is like a parenting mantra for me. Cultivate patience.

  6. Accidents April 8, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Oh man, we are here. Hank is hitting, screaming, limp-noodling, protesting, and generally acting like a turd. Sigh.

