Fess Up Friday: the oh woes me edition

My Confession? I had a crappy week.

And it was all my fault.

Seriously. A bunch of random, no big deal, things happened this week, which cumulatively have put me in a pretty big funk. You know, one of those “nobody likes me, everybody hates me, I think I’ll go and eat worms” kinda funk.

The stupid thing about it is that it is all my fault. Just about everything I either totally misinterpreted or took WAY too seriously. You see, I have this really bad tendency to be slightly over confident, until a couple little things happen and it all comes crashing down. Resulting in a major loss of confidence. Followed by a large amount of wallowing.

I have always thought of myself as a fairly confident person, in that I like who I am, faults and all. But I, like everyone else I suppose, care WAY too much about what others think and how I am perceived. I especially don’t like not being taken seriously.

But, back to the point- my mood this week is still my fault. I am the one who misinterpreted or took things too hard. And I am the one that needs to pull myself up and just let it go already. Sure, yeah, sometimes things suck. But it sucks way more feeling overly crappy about it then the actual thing that sucked in the first place. I often find myself giving this advice to others- I need to take my own advice.

Beyond that, confidence is more then liking who you are. You have to be able to have confidence in what you do and the choices you make as well. You have to have confidence that you have the abilities you think you have, even if don’t give others the chance to see them. See, again, it is confidence that sometimes stops me from stepping up and showing people what I am capable of. So my funk of a mood is all wrapped up in a tangled, complicated mess.

Time to move on.

And that is my Friday ‘Fession.

Now go and check out Brooke’s less wallowy Fess Up Friday.

9 responses to “Fess Up Friday: the oh woes me edition

  1. Brooke April 2, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I once read a book (one whole book, my entire life!). I was in college and was oh so depressed and was in therapy and just was miserable thinking that nobody liked me and that I might as well die (way more melodramatic than just eating worms). Anyhow, this book told me that everyone was so busy worrying about their own lives to worry about yours!

    I cannot tell you how freeing that statement has been for me. People aren’t sitting around trying to figure out how to ruin my life or make me feel bad because they are just as self-centered as I am. What a thought! (I don’t even know if this relates to your funk, but it was what I was thinking as I was reading!)

    • amoment2think April 2, 2010 at 12:42 pm

      That is a great statement. And so true. I think about one of the things that made me feel crappy this week, and you are right, the person so did not set out to ruin my day. I suspect they were just having a really crappy day themselves and were wrapped up in their bad mood and inadvertently took it out on me. Just like a smile can spread, a crappy mood can spread too. And yes, I think it is because of all of our tendencies to be self-centered. Good point.

  2. ironicmom April 2, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    Sometimes I think there’s two types of confidences: the inner one and the outer one. Ultimately, the inner confidence is the one that sustains us, but sometimes a bit of outer attitude can get us through funks.

    Okay, I now have no idea what I’m saying. I have put a Babble Alert on my own comment!

    Hope next week’s better!

  3. Megan April 2, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    I’m constantly assuming people are taking stabs at me, making fun of me, etc. when in reality they probably aren’t even THINKING about me. So, I know what you mean.

    Well, kindred spirit, let’s have a glass of wine, shall we?

  4. smdcanada April 3, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Trying to think of things that people say in such situations:

    – turn that frown upside down
    – chip up, missy
    – tomorrow will be a better day
    – tomorrow never dies
    – you only live twice
    – on her majesty’s secret service

    Oh wait, no…now I’m just listing James Bond movies.

    Hope things start looking up soon!

