So what if she never matches

I have been buying a lot of baby clothing lately. We didn’t at first, as she was outfitted with some awesome hand-me-downs and presents. But all those lovely tiny tiny clothing no longer fits. We are even at the last ends of the presents we got from very smart Mom’s who knew the value of giving an outfit in 18 months size to a newborn (THANK YOU!!). She is 10 1/2 months… but tall and wears cloth diapers… so 18 month clothing fits. Anyway, as I was saying: it wasn’t until the last couple months that I had to do much shopping for her. And can I just say, though I can’t speak for baby boy clothing, baby girl clothing is insane.

Before we had our daughter I always thought little girls looked so cute in their little outfits. They always seemed to match, down to their shoes and the cute little bows in their hair. I thought nothing about the effort required to achieve such loveliness. So now I have to ask: How the heck do you get your kids so darn cute and matchy-like without spending a ridiculous fortune!??

Every time I get A dressed (I am getting tired referring to her as little monkey or some other baby nickname. I want to keep this blog name free if possible, but for the sake of my writing style I am offering up her first initial.) Anyway, every time I get A dressed  I have a hard time putting her in something that matches. First of all, just getting her to stay in one spot so I can get clothing on her is a challenge, let alone riffling through her drawers to find a top and a pair of pants that matches.

My problem is that little girl baby clothing comes in a rainbow of colors and very few neutrals. It is all pastel pink, canary yellow, bright green, baby blue. Actually, truth be told, despite the fact I soo do not like pink, it seems her drawer is dominated by at least 12 different shades of pink. While all these bright and happy colors are cheerful and cute, the problem is that none of them match. Have you ever tried to find a top to match lime green pants with pink, yellow and orange tulips on them? And all those shades of pink? They kinda look stupid together. Not to mention the fact that she begins to look like bubblegum rather then a child.

And it seems the only neutrals that exist in the world of baby girl clothing are brown and white. White is insane. Why anyone would choose to put a baby, who spends most of her day either spiting up or grabbing messy food, in white I will never know. (I say this, yet I have both a white top and a white jacket for her). Brown is great, goes with everything, and hides messes well.

But it rarely comes in just plain brown. It usually has hearts or stars or swirls in some either bright or pastel colors that again make it impossible to match with anything. And oh the patterns! It seems like everything is polka dots, stripes, hearts and stars. What is so wrong with solids?

Just in case you didn't believe me...

Also, why is it that I have never seen any black, or grey, or navy? Because they are too boyish? Even if she has a pair of black pants on, it is likely that her top will be so pink she will still more likely be mistaken for cotton candy then a boy.

I guess, to be fair, she could live in her jeans. Jeans match everything. But have you ever tried to a) get a wiggly 10 1/2 month old in jeans? b) get a wiggly 10 1/2 month old into jeans over a cloth diaper? c) get a wiggly 10 1/2 month old wearing jeans over her cloth diaper into her snowsuit? Enough said.

So far, I have only discussed the top and the pants. Which is all she needs in the house. But if we are to venture out into the big big world, she needs at minimum: a pair of socks, a pair of shoes and some sort of jacket. And since we live in the land of ice and snow 8 months of year, she also needs a hat. That is where the real match test begins. She has two pairs of shoes- one that is pink (surprising) with a dark pink princess and one that is green with a red tulip. Very very few things look good with these shoes. She has one toque that can be reliably attached to her head without her being able to pull it off– it is white, blue, pink and turquoise stripes. Not exactly matching friendly. Right off the bat we have shoes and a hat that will not match, ever.

I think it is all a conspiracy on the part of clothing manufacturers to get you to buy sets of stuff, rather then one item. You see a really really cute top, but it doesn’t match any of the pants you have at home, so you just have to buy your girl the whole outfit. Tragic. And while you are at it, you better get some shoes and a hat and socks to match.

Conspiracy. Or wise marketing. Take your pick.

So I give up. We buy most of her clothing at Consignment or Superstore- because I have trouble forking over the same for an outfit for her as an outfit for me, when hers use 1/10 the fabric. Consignment means there will almost never be a full outfit and Superstore is hit and miss on a full outfit in her size.

So the kid doesn’t match. Like ever. Don’t judge.

14 responses to “So what if she never matches

  1. Briana February 17, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    “Have you ever tried to find a top to match lime green pants with pink, yellow and orange tulips on them?” I have!!! I think I have the same pants!

    I am having the same trouble with Nora. The more adorable the clothes, the harder they are to match. And while most blues go together without much trouble, it is really hard to match all those shades of pink!

    • amoment2think February 17, 2010 at 5:39 pm

      That is too funny- I really do love those green pants. But even the ‘coordinating’ set of onsies from Superstore had all different patterns that don’t actually go with the pants!

  2. Megan February 17, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    I TOTALLY feel you on this one. I have all but given up on getting my daughter’s clothes to match. I put her in jeans a lot, but I can see how it would be more difficult to get them on over a cloth diaper. Pampers are very slimming. 🙂

    Incidentally, our kids are like the EXACT same age!

    • amoment2think February 17, 2010 at 5:46 pm

      Yeah, I hope she doesn’t have a complex when she is older about the size of her butt.

      Really?! Isn’t a fun and frustrating age? Keeping them out of danger one minute and then seeing them laugh the next. LOL.

  3. Perpetua February 17, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    I have taken up the practice of aggressive non-matching. So, if E is wearing a striped onesie, he’ll be in some other striped pants and a striped jacket–different colors, widths, what have you. I get a kick out of it. 🙂

  4. Jen February 17, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    This is why I am sooo glad to have a boy. Green, gray, navy, brown, yellow, and my favourite, orange. They all go with cords of khaki, brown, and of course, jeans.

    And ha! @Briana – we run in similar circles!

    • amoment2think February 18, 2010 at 9:14 am

      Yes, I am jealous of your neutrals. And I know everyone goes crazy for girl cloths… but I think the boy’s stuff is pretty cute!!

      LOL- yes, I stumbled on your twitter account via @briana.

  5. Jocelyn February 18, 2010 at 9:06 am

    I 100% agree with you on this issue. it is appalling how much clothes for little people cost. And I still wonder how this wee little ones can end up looking so perfectly coordinated. My daugther is now 4 and lives almost exclusively in hand me downs. Even with these great gently used gifts – that do match and make wonderful outfits – it is tough to get her to buy into the whole package. Wait till A has a mind of her own and then only wants to wear the same thing day after day. On the plus side to her everything is still new and exciting. Not to mention,think about how much more environmentally friendly it is to recycle clothes

    • amoment2think February 18, 2010 at 9:19 am

      I totally agree with you- hand me downs all the way. There are such great used clothing stores for kids here in Calgary-why buy new? I find I buy new onsies and sleepers (because they seem to be hit and miss at the used places) but most pants, tops, sweaters, ect. at the used places. I have had some really great finds. And, yes, soooo much better for the environment.

      True- A certainly doesn’t have any opinion yet on what she wears, but I know she will soon and this will make it even harder. But also easier because if she picks her clothing and whats to go out mis-matched… it will be seen as her cute way of asserting her independence, rather then me being color blind or something. lol. But I don’t have a 4yr old… so what do I know? 🙂

  6. Megan February 18, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    It is a great age! But, the tantrums need to stop. Do you know what I mean? Or is it just my child? LOL

    • amoment2think February 18, 2010 at 1:59 pm

      Yes, I know what you mean!! A is full-o-tantrums sometimes. Such a good baby mostly, but at least once an afternoon she starts crying because she can’t reach something or because I took away something dangerous. It’s hard when you can’t reason with them. (Not like you can reason with them when they are older I am sure… but I can dream).

