Your kids I like. It’s you I have a problem with.

(Warning: the post you are about to read is a bit rant-y. Okay, it is really rant-y. Sorry about that.)

We live across the street from an elementary school. Which is lovely- I like the sounds of the kids playing in the school yard and the bell ringing in the morning and after lunch. I love that there are kids and families around, it makes me feel warm in that ‘community’ kind of way. A far cry from the apartment where we used to live which was full of university students with ears, fingers and eyes attached to their smart phones.

But here’s the thing: I can accept that there are certain times of the day that I won’t be able to get a parking spot within a block and a half of our house. (I often forget and then have to go for a 10 minute drive so I don’t have to hike 2 blocks back to the house with baby on one hip and diaper bag, groceries, ect on the other shoulder. And then the green guilt I endure over wasting that gas…..) I can accept that it takes me a while to get through the four-way stop at the end of the street. But what I can NOT accept is the parents who drive like maniacs. Seriously. You are picking up your kid from school and you just about hit me because you were coming around the corner at an insane speed?

I really dislike crazy drivers to begin with. I am a go-the-speed-limit kind of driver. I know I drive some of you nuts, but I just think driving is better if we all just follow the rules. (There are studies, you know. Apparently a lot of traffic jams could be avoided if everyone just went the speed limit and played nice. I am just sayin.’) That being said, it is one thing to drive way over the speed limit and merge without looking on Crowchild (non- Calgarians: think highway. It is a completely different thing to barely stop at the stop sign IN A SCHOOL ZONE WHEN YOU ARE GOING TO PICK UP YOUR KID. (Not that I am encouraging doing either… I am just saying that the second example seems worse then the first. Both bad though.) I mean, most parents I know seem pretty concerned with their child’s well-being. You’d think that concern would translate in their brains to concern about the safety of the roads near their kids school. I just don’t get it.

I get that families are busy. I know kids are in a million activities. Most families are involved in a daily marathon to get home, get food in the kids and then shuffle them back into the car to go to dance, soccer, painting and flute lessons. But please, please, take the extra 30 seconds to set a good example for the kids and SLOW DOWN, PAY ATTENTION and TREAT THE OTHER DRIVERS WITH RESPECT. I am just sayin’.

4 responses to “Your kids I like. It’s you I have a problem with.

  1. clara February 2, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Oh hell yes. I live in a school zone as well *and* it’s a “destination” school (one of few French immersion middle schools) so there are even more cars, SUVs, etc, who don’t seem to see the almost-six- foot-tall woman with the double ORANGE stroller standing at the 4-way. Our zone does often have police lying in wait, though, so sometimes I get to see someone get nabbed for doing 60 in a 30 zone.

    • amoment2think February 2, 2010 at 8:11 am

      I find it interesting that in most situations ‘Mom with stroller’ seems to get your more consideration… like getting through the doors in the mall, or finding a spot in a waiting room. But when driving it seems that everyone carefully averts their eyes so as to not need to inconvenience themselves. One day I was walking and watched a Mom with baby in a carrier try to cross at the pedestrian crossing on the major street near by…. she waited a good 5+ minus before anyone would stop. Seriously!

      Oh how I would love to see someone get a ticket…. it would make my day. Tragically, I have never, ever seen a police car anywhere near the school. Maybe I should tip them off that they could make their monthly quota of tickets in one afternoon here… its a jackpot!

  2. Sophie February 6, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Unfortunately, it doesn’t always end with a ticket. I think it was last summer that a mum was crossing the street here in Vancouver (downtown, near Costco, for those who know what I’m talking about) when a truck ran over the stroller she was pushing, with her 2-year-old daughter in it. I don’t remember exactly, but I think it was a turn-on-red-without-checking-first-if-a-pedestrian-is-crossing kind of situation. Can you imagine – no, you don’t want to imagine – having your child killed in front of you in this manner? It kinda freaked me out, especially because I know a lot of people with kids in that area and I was afraid I’d know the family. I did not, but I’m sure many people mourned that child. It just drives me nuts.

    • amoment2think February 6, 2010 at 10:12 pm

      Wow. I don’t even know what to say. No, I can’t imagine.

      It just makes me wish even more that people were more cautious on the road. Why we are always in such a hurry I will never know.

