ControverSunday Topic: Into the Archives

So, I think I am hosting ControverSunday this week! I say I think because our lovely host Perpetua over at Our Lady of Perpetual Bread Crumbs invited me to host one week and we did some back and forth messaging and I think this was the week we decided on. So I am going to go with it. (Update: apparently my confusion was warranted: http://mmeperpetua.wordpress.com/2010/04/01/controversunday-topic-into-the-great-wide-open/)

badges

Welcome!!

Here is the lowdown, for those of you who may not know yet. Every Thursday Perpetua (or in this case yours truly, playing the role of guest host) posts a topic. The topic tends to be parentingish (it tends to be, but it doesn’t have to be) and controversialish. Then everyone is invited to post on Sunday (or later) and then come back and submit their link and we will add it to the list. Then we all go read a whole bunch of interesting posts and comment thread discussions abound. Fun! Moral of the story being that we all make different choices and have different opinions, but we all respect each others opinions while still engaging in an interesting discussion. Yeah!

This week is (drum roll please……) FREE TOPIC WEEK! But wait- It is not that easy. You see, I am proposing Free Topic Week with a TWIST! What is that twist you ask? Your assignment, if you choose to accept it, is to go into the archives of any contributor to ControverSundays and find a post which does one or all of the following:

  • causes a light bulb to go off in your head and so you expand on something they said
  • gets you to see things from a different perspective or reconsider your opinion
  • reminds you of a post you have been meaning to write for a while
  • makes you think about how you may have made a different choice and why
  • is some how vaguely related to what you want to write about

Then you link to that archived post and write your post and get the badge (Go see the Fab Accidents) and post your post on Sunday (or Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday) and come back here on Sunday (or Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday) to put a link in the comments of my ControverSunday post and then I put all the links up! (deep breath) Got all that? Awesome! Don’t be shy! Join us! See you all on Sunday!

To get you started, here are all the ControverSunday contributors for you to find your archived post in. (in alphabetical order)

Accidents Will Happen

Altered Sky

amoment2think

Excellent Walker

Fearless Formula Feeder

Letter to Xander

lililly

I Know Why You’re Single

The Mothering Life

Mommy-in-Chief

Now You’re In The World

Our Lady of Perpetual Bread Crumbs

Partial Disclosures

Ramble Ramble

Two Makes Four

9 responses to “ControverSunday Topic: Into the Archives

  1. Ginger April 1, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Oooh, I like it (plus it gives me GREAT opportunities to avoid working!).

  2. Perpetua April 2, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I love it! This is excellent! I am so glad you’re guest hosting! Exclamation point!!!

    I’m going to go post over at my place so as to direct folks over here. :)

  3. Hypatia April 3, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Fun! I’m travelling, so I will likely have a controversmonday…!

  4. disgruntledacademic April 4, 2010 at 11:07 am

    I’m so in, but I have a lot of catching up to do. Reading old ControverSunday entries counts as research, right?

  5. Pingback: ControverSunday – Finding Meaning in the Easter Bunny « Tortoise on the Loose

  6. Mama Tortoise April 4, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    This is my first time participating. Very excited. Here’s a link to my post:

    http://tortoiseontheloose.wordpress.com/2010/04/04/controversunday-–-finding-meaning-in-the-easter-bunny/

    Thanks, amoment2think, for the inspiration.

  7. Partial April 4, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Hey! Gonna read everyone’s contributions later tomorrow as I am pretty wiped out from overconsumption of hard boiled eggs.

    Here’s how I chimed in:

    http://web.me.com/armuir/Site/Partial_Disclosures/Partial_Disclosures.html

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

